Jobs over summer.. (questions)

(Forgive me if this is in the wrong forum, please (this is my first post, hooray!). If it is in the wrong forum, then I apologize in advance and hope a moderator could move it to the right one. :slight_smile: )

Hi everyone! I’ve been an occasional semi-lurker in these forums for quite a while (occasionally stumbling across a relevant topic or something through Google, etc) and today I finally made an account.

(tl;dr at the bottom)

Anyway, let’s cut to the chase.

I’m currently an undergraduate student working towards my Bachelor’s in California. I’m coming back to Taiwan for summer vacation and I was hoping I could find some sort of part-time job and I figured being a tutor would probably be the most viable option. (good pay & flexible hours)

My questions are:

what sort of hourly rates should I be asking for? I can speak both English and Chinese fluently. I’m guessing the range would be around… 400nt/hour - perhaps 800nt/hour?

should I only try to find a job as a private tutor or should I also try to find a job as a buxiban teacher? (if I could, and even if I could, which one would you recommend?)

are there any other places that you guys would recommend to find a tutoring job other than Tealit?

Thanks guys!!!

-legobrah

tl;dr
-gonna be in TW over summer
-currently goes to school in the US (undergrad)
-looking for a tutoring job/some sort of informal teaching job (only option b/c no degree yet) (speaks both english/chinese)

-wondering if possible to find a job like buxiban teacher
-wondering if private tutoring is better or being buxiban teacher
-wondering what sort of hourly rates I should be asking for

thx

the reality is that buxibans aren’t going to want to hire an inexperienced teacher for the summer since it’s not something that you can just show and do immediately. They need to invest a certain amount of time to train you (horrible training albeit) and don’t want to repeat the process a few months later.