Kaohsiung - Meeting Girlfriend's parents, need to find high-quality Tea

My girlfriend is Chinese Malaysian and I’m flying to her hometown next month to meet her parents. She said I should bring tea as a gift but I’m not an expert, so I don’t know which kind or how to judge quality. Preferably I’d like to buy a Taiwanese sourced tea and my budget isn’t too limited, can spend over $100 USD if its’ worth it. So where can I find high quality tea in Kaohsiung that will impress her parents?

They won’t consider 100 USD tea “high quality”.

4 Likes

I may be of limited help. But i find historic streets have shops that sell high quality tea.

1 Like

@Whatevah Ahh, okay, how much would I need to spend and where can I find this “high quality” tea?

I’m not familiar with Taipei or Kaohsiung unfortunately but I would say at least 150 but more likely 200-300 USD. Anything below 100 will just be “oh foreigners are weird. They think this is good tea”.

If they like Pu’er it’ll be easier for you to find “good ones” because it’s kind of the shop’s prestige item but it’s gonna get expensive fast.

Edit: I put good ones in quotes because Pu’er is disgusting imo lol.

3 Likes

What type of tea? I live where the best tea in Taiwan is grown. Alishan. Oolong Tea, black tea? There are many flavours. Where I am you buy directly from the growers not through tea shops.

So you might buy Oolong tea aka Green Tea but there are many flavours.

Do you want expensive healthy tea or expensive tea that tastes nice?

This Shopee seller is pretty good for Pu’er:

It’s not my favorite type of tea and I hated it the first time I tried it, but now I like it from time to time. It’s obviously not Taiwanese.

Personally I’d be buying from a reputable online store with good reviews rather than going into a physical shop (they seem way overpriced to me). You should probably ask your girlfriend for tips, since she’s the one who recommended it and presumably knows what her parents like.