Keeping My Taiwanese Number when returning to the U.S. - Any Cost-Effective Suggestions?

Hey all,

As a dual citizen of both Taiwan and the United States, I’ve been residing in Taiwan for the past two years serving my mandatory military conscription, and in that time I’ve come to depend on my local Taiwanese number. However, I’m about to return to the United States for the foreseeable future, and I’m searching for a cost-effective method to retain this number.

The number serves primarily as my contact for friends, and it’s also tied to various accounts I have here. I don’t foresee needing to use it for calls or texts while I’m in the U.S., but it’s important that I could keep this number if I return in the future.

I came across two popular suggestions on Dcard:

1. Purchase a prepaid card and charge it with $100 TWD every six months.
  2. Opt for a monthly plan, with the lowest ranging around $130 TWD.

Unfortunately, options such as Skype and CallHippo, which I know work for European numbers and business numbers respectively, don’t seem to support personal Taiwanese numbers.

If anyone has personal experience with this, or any other recommendations beyond the two options I mentioned above, I would be really grateful. Even more so if you’ve managed to find a solution that is both cost-effective and relatively hassle-free.

Thanks in advance!

Alex

1 Like

I had the CHT Prepaid (Ideal) Card for that purpose. The downside is that it does not support roaming, so you won’t be able to get text messages when you are outside of Taiwan. Also, you have to remember to recharge every 6 months (I believe the app supports automatic recharging now), otherwise the number can get assigned to someone else. Another issue is that foreign credit cards might not work for recharging.

What about getting a Google Voice number? I did to keep my US number but I don’t know how that would work for a Taiwan number.