Labour Affairs Requirement: 4 years degree

Has anybody else experienced this problem?

I’m in the process of renewing my ARC, but have just been told that I will be rejected because I only have a three years University degree.
Actually I used my honours degree document to apply, but it was rejected because it said one year honours degree. I can not use my BA degree either, because it says three year degree. (even though this means that I studied 4 years)…
I have a Masters, but the documents are still in a box somewhere in Home Country. I guess I can ask Mum to go dig for them, but hope that it won’t come to that.

One of my co-workers got her renewal immediately, even though she has a three years degree, just because her documents didn’t have the words three years written on them.

Somewhere somehow someone put this 4 years thing into the requirements, which basically means I’m screwed now. My 7 years of studying and two years teaching experience in Home Country, as well as my four years teaching experience in Taiwan, don’t seem to be helping me too much.
Help appreciated. :notworthy:

I think it’s always been a requirement, it’s just that the government officials don’t necessarily know what is a 4-year degree and what isn’t. For example, I’ve seen people here with just junior college degrees (2 years) and degrees from secretarial colleges and schools of massage (!)having their credentials accepted, but people who really have a 4-year degree being refused. The funniest example, though frustrating, is when a degree is rejected because it’s in Latin. True, Harvard, Yale, Oxford, and Cambridge print their degrees in Latin, but obviously the Taiwan Education officials in charge of deciding who gets to teach English here don’t see many of those.
Good luck.