Learning Cantonese after or during Mandarin

Has anyone had any experience with learning Cantonese after there Mandarin was proficient or even learning both together?

Before I came to Taiwan I used to speak a bit of Cantonese with my wife’s family. Now, as I speak
English with my wife, My Canto has disappeared.

I want to pick it up again but maybe should wait till my Mandarin is fairly fluent.

Any ideas?

Yes, I studied Cantonese and Mandarin at the same time for a year or two, after having completed at least 1.5 years of intensive independent study Mandarin. That was 14 years ago, and I don’t recall having trouble doing that, other than having less time to spend on each, although sometimes a tone would slip in from the other language. :smiley: I’d say give it a shot, if you want to, and stop if you find yourself getting confused. :idunno:

I learned Cantonese for all of three days from tapes in Beijing way back in 1980. I got really excited about it and was doing it all day, every day. Then my throat gave out and I quit. I’ve never taken it up again, but I still remember what I learned, and have used it occasionally. One of my Cantonese friends says I sound like a Northerner trying to talk Cantonese. I took it as a compliment that she said I sounded like a Northerner, not a foreigner.

Cantonese is a bit closer to Mandarin than Taiwanese/Hokkien is, so easier to learn than Hokkien if you know some Mandarin already.

What’s your motivation for learning Cantonese? What do you want to do with it?

Yes. Both Mandarin and Cantonese are descended from Middle Chinese, whereas Min split off from Late Han Chinese many centuries earlier.