Learning Chinese - please recommend a private teacher

Now that I am back in Taipei and will probably be stuck here for at least 6 months I want to do it right and take up Chinese again.
I went to a group class last year, 3 months / 5 days a weak @ 2 hours each. While we had a lot of fun I didn’t really learn anything and started struggling around half way after which I couldn’t keep up anymore.
By now I have forgotten most of it, can only remember some very basic things.

Thus I think I would like to take up private classes with a fixed schedule (though certain flexibility should be ensured), perhaps 3 times a week.
I am not good at learning languages and feel more comfortable when I can visualize the words, so character reading and writing should have a high priority (in the group class it wasn’t at all). I do like the writing anyhow, so I am pretty motivated on that one.
I am aware that some claim you should learn to speak first but I am not in a rush, so I wouldn’t mind if the whole process takes a bit longer because of the reading & writing.

So can anyone recommend a good & professional teacher, available after office hours (6:30pm onwards) at a fair rate?

I am not interested in language exchange at this time.

[quote=“Rascal”]I think I would like to take up private classes with a fixed schedule (though certain flexibility should be ensured), perhaps 3 times a week.
I am not good at learning languages and feel more comfortable when I can visualize the words, so character reading and writing should have a high priority (in the group class it wasn’t at all).[/quote]

hi Rascal,
My advice is, if you’re interested in writing, don’t wait for anyone to teach you how to do it. Pick up a copy of the writing companion booklet to the standard Shida Audio Visual Chinese , it’s a thin paperback, with about 20 chapters, around 16 characters each. It’s awesome, I used it to teach myself how to read/write.