Leaving before 1-year contract

I’ve been teaching at Kojen for a few months now and I am extremely unhappy there, to the point where I am exhausted and near depression. I have been on the receiving end of many negative comments from my director who said I’m receiving complaints from parents of my classes. I’m trying hard to build rapport with my kids but I just don’t think it’s a right fit, or if I even am fit to be a teacher. I am really at a lost here.

I have been thinking of various ways to leave and go home, but being a new teacher with only years of volunteer teaching experience back home, I am afraid that I won’t be able to qualify if I leave to teach at another school from scratch.

I am in my fourth month and did not anticipate on staying for more than a year. If I were to sign with a new school at this point, I am not sure if any school would want someone who would teach for another 7-8 months. If I do end up leaving Kojen (or if and before they get to firing me) on my own terms, I will face repercussions, including “buying out” my contract and paying for some of the expenses they’ve covered, which I am not sure if I have the financial ability to.

Has anyone been able to leave Kojen before their 1-year contract?

I’m not sure about Kojen specifically, but for general advice, there are several threads about terminating a contract early. :mag_right:

I was in a similar situation. If you hate it and can’t see a reasonable chance of things improving there’s no point prolonging the inevitable.
Do you want to leave Taiwan or get another job there?
If they give you bs terms for early contract cancellation there’s really nothing stopping you from just upping and going without saying anything I don’t think.