Linux is a load of crap...!

I have tried seven yes SEVEN variants of Linux on three systems with a variety of components. I’m not by any means a computer novice, but I tell you…

1. Linux is impossible to set up no matter how I do it. I have never had a satisfactory experience with Linux. I have been trying tor two years.

2. My conclusion: Linux should stay in the research labs/backrooms/garages… it’s not ready for the desktop at all. General use of this iOS is still more than 10 years away by my guess.

3. When you spend more time fiddling with your machine, trying to get it running, you’re wasting valuable time that you could be doing a hundred other things with. I’m a patient person usually, i’m even willing to put up with inconvenience/etc, but i’m sorry. I just can’t see what the fuss is all about.

4. It’s true I’m not a Linux expert, but do I have to be just to get the damned system working…?

so, Linux need not worry Bill Gates. When even I can’t set it up on my pcs, I doubt that many other people will be able to.

Bill Gates, get some sleep. Microsoft still rules the desktop!

Kenneth

It’s not “cool” to say that Microsoft whips Linux’s ass, so good on you. The one person I know who uses Linux admits that it is difficult to use and that the main reason he does so is that he dislikes Bill Gates and Microsoft’s business practices. I can see both sides of the argument, but as a complete computer idiot I am glad that there is a world standard; Microsoft.

Sorry you’re having trouble. Why don’t you tell us what kind of hardware you’ve got and what distro you’re using. I know you’ve been trying out cdrom based distros but the way I learned was to simply wipe my harddrive and try to install linux. I’m posting this from a machine running Mandrake 9.1. I installed it last night in about an hour while watching TV and eating supper.

Here’s a screenshot of my desktop (just copy and paste the url into your browser, don’t click on it).