Lo Sheng Controversy

A plan to demolish the Lo Sheng Sanatorium (a leprosarium) to make room for an MRT depot has angered many people in Taiwan and internationally. The Sanatorium is a beautiful and historic site. It is also the home of the leprosy patients who live there, and now the government wants to cram them all into an ugly new hospital building and leave them there to die.

http://www.tzuchi.org/GLOBAL/news/articles/20000908_1.html

http://www.nowpublic.com/lepers_in_taiwan

Save Lo Sheng

http://www.pcschool.idv.tw/savelosheng/

I am a student at Fu Jen Catholic University, which is near the Lo Sheng leprosarium.
Like most of the people live in Xin Zhuang or the students who have to travel a really long and painful way to school (one and a half hours for me, sometimes more), I, too, hope that the MRT line could be finished soon so that we no longer have to suffer from the bad traffic every single day.

Now they are saying that the reason this MRT Line isn’t finished is because these old people from the sanatorium are refusing to move to the new hospital the government has built for them. But if you could see how beautiful the sanatorium is, and how ugly and cramped the new place is, I think you’d refuse to move too.