Logistics of shipping stuff to Taiwan

I’m currently a visiting scientist in a country other than my home country, in a rented two bedroom apartment filled with stuff I have accumulated over my stay of about a decade here. I have no family here and feel it is time to move on.

Most of my stuff isn’t particularly high value but I’m pretty sentimental when it comes to my things, such as mugs from my graduate study days or an ancient relic of a microwave oven that refuses to stop working :slight_smile:

I would like to ship the contents to Taiwan at minimal cost (doesn’t even have to be insured) and how long it takes to arrive is of no concern as well.

My problem is that I don’t have a destination in Taiwan to ship the stuff to, and I don’t have a place to keep the stuff in my present country while I come to Taiwan, settle in and find a place to buy/rent. Although I have checked with storage companies here and they can store my things and permit me to give a freight company authorization to collect it in my absence.

What should I do? Does anyone have any experience with freight companies and shipping stuff to Taiwan? What’s the best way to do things? Any recommended freight companies?

Given that the cheapest freight option will probably be via sea, do they need to have a destination at the moment of departure or can it be noted as “to be confirmed”? Or would it be better to store the things in my country of origin for the time being, find a home in Taiwan and then sort out the collection from the origin country to Taiwan remotely? Will I need to be present for the customs export declaration?

Thanks for any advice.

1 Like

Based on experience I suggest sell/give away your stuff and start a fresh here, anything else will either be a headache, stupidly expensive or both. Small sentimental items just stick them in your suitcase.