Looking for advice on how to get started with consulting

So I think I’ve mentioned a bit about this in the past but I’ve been trying to break into user experience research which seems to be mostly absent in Taiwan.

UX research is different from design in that designers make Design changes that facilitate changes to a product towards the needs and experience of the users. So for example a designer would spend time changing the user interface in ways that make these products easier and or more enjoyable to use.

Alternatively, a user researcher (what I am looking at doing) provides research that discovers what user experience and how they use these products in order to outline the latent challenges behind the product. Basically I’m a psychologist who designs research (like surveys, usability tests, Interviews, etc.) In order to define the ways in which users engage/use products (or services) or feels about (attitudes and behavior are not the same things but both are useful to understand) that might not align with the intent of the designers.

Anyway I have my masters in applied psychology and am currently a PhD student. Now that I’ve quit my job to finish my PhD, I’m thinking about how to go about working as a consultant in this capacity. Since Taiwanese companies are still quite UX immature (of course not all of them) I was thinking that the best route would be to work out some kind of freelance role where I could produce iterative research on a product or service up until it’s launch as well as to help build research teams.

I have two issues though. 1. My Chinese is not good. I’ve tried learning but Ive had limited time to study between work and PhD studies. Still I’m working on learning it but currently I don’t have good enough mandarin to conduct studies in Mandarin which I know is a significant hurdle.
2. I have no idea where to find clients nor do I know how to figure out what the typical budget for a new product would be.