Losing child custody if Taiwanese live abroad?

I have a Taiwanese friend who is a divorcee. She is currently taking care of her 2 year old daughter in Taiwan. She has recently met a guy who wants to bring her to Canada but she said that she cannot leave Taiwan and live abroad for a long time (with her daughter)) because she will lose custody of her daughter to her ex husband. I am wondering is there such a law and where can I find or read more about it? Thanks in advance.

That’s probably an order the judge entered as part of the divorce. It’s very common to have such an order in a divorce to prevent one parent from running away with the kid.

Thanks jmee for the reply. I am wondering is there a way around it so she can leave Taiwan with her daughter without losing custody?

That’s hard to answer without knowing the details of your friend’s case. Plus, I’m not an expert on Taiwan law (my expertise is in U.S. Legal system). Still, I’m trying to give you generally helpful answers.

If your friend wants to “get around” the legal requirement to keep her child in Taiwan, I can imagine three ways to do it.

1. Negotiate with the dad. If the parents can come up with an agreement about leaving the country, they may ask the court to enter a new order allowing the new arrangement. Might need a lawyer or two to make this work. And if dad disagrees, then it won’t work.

2. File a court action demanding the right to leave with the kid. The court is supposed to consider the “best interests of the child” (not just what parents want), so this won’t work unless dad is an axe murderer. Or if he has abandoned the child, never visits, and the kid doesn’t know him. If you can prove such facts then a judge might let her live overseas with her child.

3. I do not recommend any illegal option (such as running away with the kid.) Dad could start a court case to take the child away from mother. Or, if dad is unethical and crazy might do something worse!