Mexico to legalize nearly all drugs

Mexico to legalize ALL drugs

Almost all of’em, pretty much. Wow. This will make them more liberal than the Netherlands. Like most people, I don’t exactly keep up with Mexican politics, so this comes as a complete shocker. This is going to have some serious ramifications for the U.S., and not just because of the anticipated hordes of weekend influx of partygoers from over the border.

On the other hand, is it humanly possible for Tijuana to get any sleazier? I dunno if millions of crazed American drug tourists is going to change the border towns that much.

I’m no expert. but aren’t drugs so expensive because they’re illegal? Will the government now allow the sale of narcotics in 7/11 and be able to heavily tax it and use that money for rehabilitation and funding for the war on drugs?

So the price would come down (taking money away from dealers) and the government should be able to make money from taxing it (I think.) Then maybe the government would have more funding to battle the cartels and the cartels not as much money to buy guns, torture people and stuffs.

An old civics teacher I had said he thought drugs should be legal in the US for similar reasons. I for the most part agree.

What’s the big difference between the Marlboro Man and the Pusher Man?

Read the article. It will be legal to use drugs, but not to sell drugs. Basically the Mexican government feels that it’s more cost effective for the police to let small-time users slide and focus more on the traffickers.

Here’s a story about hard drug use in Vancouver. It hasn’t been legalized, but there’s a medically supervised shooting gallery that’s been open for nearly three years, and just won a three-year extension recommendation from the city police. Pretty much anything’s got to work better than the ‘war on drugs’.