MOE Huayu Enrichment Scholarship 2012-2013

Good day! I know it’s a bit too early for this but I would just like to collect as much data as possible so I would be prepared when I try to apply for the scholarship.

My main concern is that I have zero knowledge in Mandarin, would this cause a problem?

If you could suggest schools that focuses more on beginner students, that would be great.

Thank you! :slight_smile:

No it won’t be a problem to not know Chinese.

Anyone know when the NYC TECO deadline is for apps?

Deadline should be in March if it’s like last year. You’ll need recommendation letters, so start thinking about it well before then. I wrote a post on my blog about what the application process was like for me as an American, check it out if you like:

outofmountains.blogspot.com/2011 … hment.html

[quote=“okonomiyaki”]Deadline should be in March if it’s like last year. You’ll need recommendation letters, so start thinking about it well before then. I wrote a post on my blog about what the application process was like for me as an American, check it out if you like:

outofmountains.blogspot.com/2011 … hment.html[/quote]

The process differs by TECO, not country. Ie, a NY TECO has a different process than the TECO in Texas. Likewise, a NYer has a different process AND different odds. NYers and those in the Northeastern corridor are up against all of the students in the several top universities in the region like Columbia, NYU, Yale, Princeton, Cornell. A Texan is up against… the cows?
[Edit: I just noticed your point about those in SF v. those with lesser known Asian Studies depts. BTW, white text on a black background is incredibly difficult to read.]

Either way, the NY TECO needs to get its online shite together. I went there twice to be like “Yo. Your site sucks.” “We have a new one” “Well, its not very easily accessible as Ive only seen the new one a few times and can never seem to get it when I want it to work.” “Oh… uh… We’ll check on that for you.”