Need help, have I overstayed my welcome?

So, I got kicked from my school in Tainan about 6 months ago due to my academic performance. I have been staying here for the last 6 months with the understanding that I had no problem with the immigration office since my printed ARC said it was valid until the end of August. I have recently learned how stupid I have been and how my ARC is invalid if the reason for stay is no longer standing. I find it strange that I didn’t get a notification from the agency informing me that I had to leave the country.

Is it possible that the school didn’t notify the authorities about my standing in the school? I know this sounds unlikely, but the school didn’t even notify ME of my expulsion. I had to find out 3 weeks after going to classes when I wanted to make a tuition payment.

If this is the case, does it make sense to act as if my ARC was still valid all this time and just go for a Visa run?

If not, what’s a good course of action? Turning myself in to the immigration office and begging for mercy?

Any help is hugely appreciated.