New constitution--HR for all humans, or just ROC citizens?

Just wondering. Several of the newspapers reported on this today, more out of interest in “freedom of the press” than anything else, but something caught my eye. Several times they mentioned that the new constitution would guarantee human rights for “all ROC citizens.” Now, human rights by definition ought to apply to all humans, right? Otherwise we’d be talking about “citizen’s rights.”

This is important in case foreigners want to have free speech or something.

Indeed, and as we all know the definition of a human is… an ROC citizen :wink:

RE: Human Rights for all persons? Or just for ROC citizens?

Yes . . . . . you have hit upon a key point, and something that I have been arguing in the courts here for many years. However, there seems to be little recognition at the moment that non ROC citizens are “people”.

Perhaps someone could write a petitioning campaign to the Presidential Office.

In my opinion respect for minorities, fairness, and equality may be a bit of a stretch for Taiwan. The only thing that might change with a new constitution is the name and borders of the Republic of China.

We are not even allowed to petition the government for the protection of our own human rights. Is anybody here willing to fork over millions of dollars to encourage elected officials to recognize all residents as equals. I don’t have it and even if I did it would be illegal for me to participate in “political activities”. We could try contacting Taiwan’s well paid lobbyist in Washington DC. and ask them to do some pro bono work.
Anyone know who they are?

Why not write some articles for the local English press? Or better yet . . . . . . for the local Chinese press?