Newbie wanting to teach in Taiwan - advice wanted

I’m interested in going to Taiwan to teach and would like any feedback or advice if possible.

My background is as follows: I’m 22 and am Chinese (speak Cantonese and little bit of Manderin, born in China but bought up in New Zealand, therefore can be considered as a native English speaker). I have a bachelors degree, teaching certificate and have about 6 months of tutoring experience (tutoring university students website deigsn and database design). I have not decided which city in Taiwan I’ll like to live in yet, but I would like a high paid position while at the same time maximise the amount I can save. In terms of accommodation, I prefer being able to stay with a local family that has a spare bedroom to rent out (I think it would be cheaper and I’ll be able to force myself to improve on my Manderin skills too). In terms of the school, becasue I don’t have real english teaching experience, I don’t mind teaching children or adults, as for adults the only thing I’m worried about is the respect they will give me considering I am quite young.

Any feedback or other useful information would be much appreciated. Thank you. Kind regards.

Lil :smiley:

The most important thing is whetehr or not you’ve got a NZ passport.

Brian

Yes I do hold a NZ passport.

Having said this, schools in Taiwan usually favour teachers from USA/ Canada then Australia then New Zealand.

What I’m worried about is, being a Chinese how easy would it for me to find a teaching position and how well will I be treated. I definietly know that a European face is better than an Asian face in terms teaching English.

Would anyone recommend going to teach in Japan instead of Taiwan? Asking just out of interest because I have not officially decided where I’d like to go and teach.

Regards
Lillie