Non-US Citizen in Taiwan working remotely for US Company

It seems like there are several people here doing remote work for US based companies. I’m a software engineer looking to do the same and had a few questions. Note that I’m not a US citizen.

• Did you start your own business and get hired as an independent contractor? My company told me that this misclassifies employees as independent contractors and they don’t want to go this route to avoid legal issues. If you indeed did this, what steps did you have to take to make it work?
  • Do you have to pay US tax as well?

I’m a US citizen so I’m screwed either way

Why are you “screwed either way”? Sorry I’m not sure about how independent contractor laws exactly work…

I get double taxed and pay taxes in both countries. I can claim some foreign credit but it only covers a small amount of my earnings. If you’re not a US citizen, what I say doesn’t really apply… I know plenty of foreigners from Europe who pay no taxes to either country by claiming non resident in their country of citizenship.

Just as a general rule, under common law (US etc.) there are strong precedents, even new ones for the gig economy era, for sham contracting schemes being found invalid. If you want an “employee-like person” to be a true independent contractor, you need to go out of your way to make it valid. The reason why it’s still so popular seems to be that (1) most people don’t realize they can sue for recognition as employees, and/or (2) they can be fired easily either way and don’t want to risk antagonizing their employers.

In Taiwan, the courts have a record of schizophrenia on the issue. :crazy_face:

Thanks for your response!

@jimbob132 FYI, I have an open work permit (through Gold Card) and I’m fine with paying tax (even double tax) since the compensation is much higher even with double tax and has more interesting work.

@yyy Are you saying that the legality is a gray area but many employers still hire foreign contractors?