Official documents for prolonged (4-5 months) academic visit to Taiwan?

Hello!
So I have been doing internship in Taiwan for the last 6 months. I’ve left Taiwan since my visa has expired. However my supervisor would love to host me for another 4-5 month for an thesis research.

The problem: (according to my local Taipei Office) to do any research placement longer than 1 month, i need an official document from Ministry of education for making visa, in which if we don’t go through official program provided by MoE or MOST applied by the uni (for example TEEP), our uni will not register individual name to the ministry (they register name on batch basis, they never register individuals only).

Since the research placement does not using provided channels, how can i secure legal way to come and stay in taiwan for my research?

Many thanks

is it your professor wants you to stay for the research, or the professor is willing to host you if you can stay in taiwan?

if the former, the professor or the department should find a way to host you.

2 Likes

I understand you said “legal”, but if your professor can find a way to give you whatever benefits of hosting without going through the full bureaucracy, then the easiest way might be to do a visa run since it’s only 4-5 months (assuming you get 60-90 days free).

@tando
he want me to continue the ongoing research which was my internship topic, especially since i need the opportunity to write my undergrad thesis.

And yes he want to make sure i have the channel/ proper way to go into and stay in Taiwan. The staff of our lab also looking for the legal/ proper way to host me. The problem is we exhausted the most common way to invite overseas student. (TEEP is the easiest since the program has been established, however limited only for 6 month per year, i’ve used my time slot). The other way to invite is using IIPP program, however its too late to apply now.

@tigerninjaman