Online TEFL Course

Sorry if there already loads of threads about this (It’s hard to search for them because you end up pulling up loads of results from job vacancies “TEFL certificate preferred…ETC”).

Anyway, I was wondering if anyone could offer me any advice. I will be arriving in Taiwan in February to start looking for a teaching job. I’m from the UK and have a BSc but I have no TEFL certificate or experience. I know from friends who are ‘proper’ EFL teachers that the only certificates worth anything internationally are the CELTA and the Trinity TESOL. Most cram school adverts say they prefer some kind of TEFL certificate, so if it’s not a CELTA, does it matter what online course you do? Do they care whether it’s a 120 hour i to i, or some other 20 hour online course?

Any help would be really appreciated.

Thanks!

Try choosing “thread titles only” and select “teaching english in taiwan” as the forum.

Ok thanks mate, I didn’t even notice the advanced search. I’ll give it a shot.

THOSE OF YOU who found teaching jobs… were you required to have your TEFL/TESOL notarized before hand? (paid a fee at your country’s taiwan embassy)?
yes?

Im curious how often will they require you to notarize your certificate

A one millisecond TEFL course is fine. It can even be imaginary.

You can even make your own with your computer.
Have it laminated to add an air of professionalism, and you are golden. Its not like anyone will check.

Anything else is a waste of money. The run of mill TEFL certificate make no difference, and no one would check the authenticity anyway.

[quote=“bigduke6”]A one millisecond TEFL course is fine. It can even be imaginary.

Have it laminated to add an air of professionalism, and you are golden. Its not like anyone will check.

Anything else is a waste of money. The run of mill TEFL certificate make no difference, and no one would check the authenticity anyway.[/quote]