Only speak English in Taiwan?

Can foreign students live in Taiwan speaking only English especially in Taipei and Taichung?

Yes.

4 Likes

yes, but wont always be easy.

2 Likes

It depends what and where you’re studying. A few schools have English-only programs, and you’ll be able to manage. Otherwise, no.

2 Likes

I only speak English and it’s 100% fine. Rarely do I even need to use Google Tranbslate to communicate with someone, as most people I actually need to talk to (ie anyone at a store that’s not a convenience store) can speak English.

Yeah Taipei has more English, but I’ve spent weeks in total in other cities and it’s been fine.

2 Likes

It can be, yes, but what are you studying?

1 Like

ohhh, if he means at school, not just life in general, I have no experience with that

1 Like

You’ll be ok, but it’s only the respectful thing to do to teach yourself the basics of Mandarin. Plenty of countries in the West where people snarl “Learn our language or go back to where you’re from!” while their kids go for an exchange semester in the East and laugh of the locals speaking a language they don’t understand.

11 Likes

I want to study International Business

1 Like

Then you should get cracking on Mandarin learning

5 Likes

Come on. The world is bigger than the PRC, right?

And if Xi’s regime doesn’t cool down some of the Mandarin fever we’ve seen, I’m not sure what will. :neutral_face:

Guy

I believe there are university programs where you can do that. But although the textbooks will be in English, and the course will nominally be in English, many of the professors will often be speaking in Chinese, and the conversation between classmates will I suspect be almost entirely in Chinese. University administration will also be almost entirely in Chinese. Day to day life, you can totally get by with only very basic Chinese (I’m certainly evidence of that!), but it won’t exactly be an optimal university experience.

2 Likes