Opinion: NTNU MTC has the worst Mandarin training center in Taiwan

If you are planning to come to Taiwan to study Chinese, think twice before signing up to Shi-Da MTC (國立台灣師範大學).
Here is a long post about this school.

Last week a friend told me she’s coming to Taiwan to study Chinese. I asked her which school, “NTNU, I read it is the best in Taiwan” she said.
Too late…

To be fair, in terms of quality NTNU certainly isn’t the worst mandarin training center in Taiwan, but if you consider price vs value, I’m pretty sure it is the worst.
I studied in NTNU myself, and also know tons of people that study/studied there. I will spend some time here bashing NTNU, so that people can avoid my mistake and my friend’s mistake.

My Story
I’m the archetype of a long term Chinese student. I started studying Chinese from zero 5 years ago, I’ve been in different schools in Taiwan and China, I’ve been to classes while on vacations, I’ve had a private tutor while employed, I’ve attended to classes when changing jobs, anyway, I’ve been to lots of classes. Now I can read books, news and I’m fluent to the point people think I’m Taiwanese when talking in the phone (people are often baffled when they meet me in person and see a white guy).
I think from experience I can tell what’s good and what’s bad about a Chinese language school. So here’s my take on NTNU.

The Bad

[ul]
[li]It is expensive. Studying Chinese in NTNU is more expensive than studying masters in Taiwan, and in NTNU mandarin students don’t even get a dorm! (tip: except for NTNU, most universities offer dorms for mandarin students). Renting near NTNU is expensive. If you want cheap, expect to live far from school. (There are a few cheap-ish places in Shida Nightmarket, if you can accept noise, smell and cockroaches)[/li]