Opium Wars

Because the Chinese were busy getting high on opium, courtesy of the British, to invent anything.
I think predatory cultures have the upper hand in the evolutionary game.

Uh, the British were only involved for a couple of centuries, the Chinese were smoking opium for 4,500 years before any limey dopepushers corrupted them.

Really? I believe that the Chinese smoked a much less potent mixture of tobacco and opium, and even that was introduced by the Dutch to Taiwan from Indochina, and then from Taiwan to China. The smoking of pure opium was something that the British introduced and encouraged. It’s been a while since I studied this, so I could be wrong, but I don’t think I am.

Before any Brits start getting defensive - I’m simply stating a fact, nothing personal.

Yes, opium was a menace for centuries but there was a serious effort and success in eliminating opium in China during that time. It’s one of the rare success that was sabotaged by the turn of the century British in the name of greed. For a more detailed information: wsu.edu/~dee/CHING/OPIUM.HTM

In another topic somewhere on this forum I mentioned that predatory cultures have the upper hand in evolutionary terms. If you’re a trekkie → Western powers = Borgs. Federation = Non Western nations but without the technology, Captain Kirk and Picard.

When you look at the past couple of centuries - China and Africa were in some ways - taken advantage of - by Western nations. So it’s really galling to have some westerners lecture non-westerners on how the west have superior cultures, yada, yada, yada… and China not having invented anything of worth…yada, yada, yada… and we’re rich you’re poor so we’re always right…yada, yada, yada. Quite distasteful really.

For all the West’s accomplishments and achievements it is wise to remember that it’s paid for partly with Asian and African blood.

Maoman remembers his history well.

From opiates.net:

From Opium in China (1700-1860):