Patent law?

Hi,

Can anyone here direct me to information regarding patents? Does a patent applied for in one country have standing in all countries, or does it need to registered in individual countries? For example, if a product has a US patent, does it need to be registered in Taiwan to be covered in Taiwan? Does anyone know of a good information source online I could read? Thank you.

Isn’t this Mother Theresa’s specialty?

Has to be applied for in individual countries.

You can also try applying under the Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT), which lets you apply once initially, and then specify countries in which you’d like to file. Eventually you will most likely have to handle patent prosecution in each country individually, but the beginning steps should be easier. That said, I am not an expert on PCT, so I can’t answer too many of your questions on that. I mainly deal with US patents.

Thanks, josefus. I’m not a patent expert (I help negotiate and draft patent licensing agreements – ie giving others the right to use a patent – and don’t actually file patent applications or prosecute patent litigation, which require different skills and knowledge). Nonetheless, I know a little about the subject.

In general, a patent is the right to forbid others from making, using, offering for sale or selling an invention in a particular country, and that right can only be obtained individually, by filing separate applications in every country in which protection is desired.

Not surprisingly, patent laws in different countries vary and obtaining international protection one country at a time is an extremely time consuming and expensive process, so most of the world’s nations have been negotiating and ratifying a series of treaties over the past 100 years to harmonize the world’s patent laws and create a global system of patent protection. While much progress has been made, we are still not there yet.