Penghu in winter

Hello,

I’m relatively new to Taiwan and have some time off before the Lunar New Year. I am thinking about heading to Penghu Islands. Do you think it is too cold to go there? Will there be much to do for a lone traveller (25 year old male)? If you don’t think Penghu would be good, any suggestions on a good 4 day trip to somewhere else? I have heard that it may be difficult to find accomodations and such this last minute because it is public school vacation time? ie - Taroko gorge would be too crowded?

I’ve never been to Penghu before, but I’ve heard that it’s extremely windy there from November to April every year. It’s so windy that there’s often sandstorms at the beaches.

Penghu will be cold (small, flat islands in the middle of the sea in the winter = cold) and probably deserted, as well flight and boat schedules will be subjected to the weather conditions and they are unpredictable, especially at this time of the year.

Penghu - haven’t been there at this time of the year, but have heard it’s cold and the wind is nasty.

I went to Taroako once during Chinese New Year a few years ago. It was wonderful for the first couple of days, when people go home to visit their families and eat lots. Well, actually it was kind of wet and misty, but that just added to the atmosphere and made the hot springs even more tempting. Then, voom, all of a sudden the place was packed. So was the rest of the East coast. And the traffic was really bad. We camped, which was uncomfortable (I’m not really a big fan of tents) but at least there weren’t any accomodation problems!

Good luck, wherever you decide on.

The traditional houses on Penghu have tiny doors and windows in order to counter the gale-force winter winds. Farmers have built stone walls around their plots in order to prevent their crops from being sandblasted.

I went there at the end of September and the place was extremely quiet, but a trip nowadays would be like visiting a ghost town.