Performance Permit for Musicians

Hi,

Does anyone have the specifics of how to apply for a musician’s performance permit?

a little background… I have just moved to Taiwan to take a year off of work and study Mandarin full-time. I’ve been a performing musician for years and am planning to work up some shows while here… planning to do them for free so that I won’t need a work visa. After reading the forum, it seems that I will also need some performance permit from the Ministry of Education.

Are there any other musicians out there that know the specifics of this beyond going to the MOE website’s front page?

Regards,
Brad

This information is mostly in Chinese. Maybe you can get someone to help you read it. The permit application is 500NT and you can download it here: culture.gov.tw/frontsite/per … d=NDgxMg==

There’s an association of buskers in Taichung. Address and some websites here:

Taiwan Busker development Association at 04-24717187
台灣街頭藝人發展協會 busker.org.tw
協會地址:台中市南屯區文心路一段182號14F-3
協會電話:04-24717187

tw.myblog.yahoo.com/buskertw/

allstar.org.tw/star/index2.php?mod=6

I hope this is right. My Chinese is not so good. Good luck and let us know how it went.

[quote=“bradsmithdba”]Hi, Does anyone have the specifics of how to apply for a musician’s performance permit?

a little background… I have just moved to Taiwan to take a year off of work and study Mandarin full-time. I’ve been a performing musician for years and am planning to work up some shows while here… planning to do them for free so that I won’t need a work visa (I’m on a multi-entry 5 year tourist visa and doing the HK visa run every 60 days) after reading the forum, it seems that I will also need some performance permit from the Ministry of Education.

Are there any other musicians out there that know the specifics of this beyond going to the MOE website’s front page?

Regards,
Brad[/quote]

Well Brad even working for free can get you deported here. Good thing to get a permit though if you can