PhD Grad Not Feeling the Love from Taiwan Academia

I have a PhD (you wouldn’t believe the kind of riff-raff getting ’em these days) in the humanities from what claims to be a top 50 uni. Glowing reference letters from professors keen to make sure their most eccentric student stay put on a distant island where they can enjoy him from a safe distance. I even have a clean police record! (if you’re gonna bump someone off and bury ’em in a pine forest, cover your traces. That’s my motto.) I have a contract for the obligatory pear-reviewed deathly dull monograph as well as other publications.

I’ve applied for a few academic positions here in Taiwan and have had no reply (I’ve applied for a couple more recently, but I’m not holding my breath). Trying to ingratiate myself with the natives, I submitted papers to a number of crappy but allegedly pear-reviewed Taiwanese journals but didn’t even get a rejection email. I applied to 中央研究院 (Academentia Cynica) for their postdoc program, into which I really would’ve loved to be accepted, but didn’t make the reserve list (it wasn’t personal: with the exception – if I remember correctly – of an Indian name or two in Chemistry, there were no successful applicants with non-Chinese names (i.e. presumably they were all Taiwanese).