PhD in Taiwan

Hi,

I intend to apply for a PhD program in computer science in Taiwan next year.
I would like to know if anyone has already done or is doing its PhD in Taiwan and what he feels about doing it in Taiwanese universities.
This year I am studying Chinese.

Thanks

Bruno

I know people doing this, and they all seem to have ended up as full-time RAs (read lackeys), without much time to pursue their own work. Perhaps they don’t really need to write anything original, but just copy their supervisors? Plagiarism is rife here, as you probably know.

I wonder what the advantages of your plan are for you (as against doing a PhD back home)?

[quote=“smithsgj”]
I wonder what the advantages of your plan are for you (as against doing a PhD back home)?[/quote]

I joined my Taiwanese wife here in Taiwan. I do not intend to go back home in the years to come. I think about doing this PhD instead of working immediately as an telecommunications engineer, my last job.
I would like to work in labs and teach in Taiwan universities. Without PhD and due to my work experience (less than 3 years for Motorola and Freescale Semiconductors), I think it will be impossible to do it.

I search for foreigners who intend to do or are currently doing this kind of PhD. Any contacts can help me :slight_smile:

Thanks for your response

Bruno.

Hi Bruno:

I think you are making an excellent choice. People who follow their spouses to Taiwan can have a tough time adjusting, but I think a major project like a PhD will give you something to do and make it easier. Taiwan has good CS programs and everything is in English anyway besides the lectures, so I think you will do fine. The sciences and engineering are generally much better than the humanities and social studies programs most foreiegners are dealing with.

Keep an open mind and a sense of humor anmd I’m sure you will do fine. Where will you be living? With your background, the Hsinchu area would be a natural choice.