Planning for retirement

Hi, I am new on forumosa, let me introduce myself.

I’ve been living in Taiwan for 5 years now. I am a teacher and work for a high school in Central Taiwan. I make around 900000 a year. I am 35 years old and I need to start planning for retirement. I’ve never really thought about it before. I have no saving. All my money went into well… living and the house. I’ve just finished paying it. No debts :laughing: I have 3 kids.

The problem is I don’ t know what to do. I plan on saving about 15% of my income toward retirement. Is that enough? What should I do with it? Is there any kind of government supported retirement program or should I invest in some mutual fund or else? Should I turn to my bank (HSBC) or find a mutual fund on my own?

Any sound advice would very welcome.

Thanks

I would have thought that you need to go the other way. Work out when you want to retire, how much you reckon you’ll need, and get a percentage from that. Maybe assuming that compound interest will counteract inflation (a cautious way of doing it).

15% will be 135k a year, so 4million once you hit 65. Doesn’t sound like enough to me, unless you manage to get some very high returns.

Look up Guy in Taiwan’s posts. He’s disappeared from the site, but he knew his personal finances inside out. He’s probably already retired :slight_smile:

I’ll check him out thanks.

By the way, I am hoping my income will increase over time…

[quote=“Mocfilm”]I’ll check him out thanks.

By the way, I am hoping my income will increase over time…[/quote]

Me too. But I use the word pray :laughing:

You are in a much better position than many, many teachers in Taiwan. Firstly, you’ve paid off your house loan so no rent. Secondly, you are actually thinking about the future.

Thanks man, I’m trying.

I’ ve read that guyintaiwan recommend to save at least 20,000,000 before retirement… Hummm that’s gonna be tough. I need to factor the kids education and the trips back home.