Project Manager working in Taipei for 2 years - What kind of salary should I be getting?

I’ve been working for a Taiwanese company as a Project Manager for about 2 years now. It’s not a huge company, and I’m 1 of the 2 foreigners working here. I am basically the guy in charge of managing all of our projects with our customers in the US. I handle all direct communication with the customers and communicate with our factory daily about any issues that come up.

My starting salary was 65k and now I’m up to around 70k. My question is, is my current salary reasonable for a foreigner doing this kind of work in Taiwan? (I’m living in Taipei, and working in Neihu btw).

I suppose some other relevant info would be that I have a Bachelor’s in Mechanical Engineering (which is needed for the job) from a good university in the US, and I had no relevant experience before taking this job (after graduating I travelled for a bit and then taught English for 1 year in Taiwan).

The reason I’m asking about this is because we’ve been looking to hire another project manager with an engineering degree, but most candidates lose interest when we tell them the starting salary range is 60k – 70k.

Unfortunately, I think that sounds about right. I don’t work in the industry though. You’ve been getting raises which are pretty decent by Taiwan standards.

The real question is whether you are truly indispensable in eyes of the company. You may be if you are handling all the US clients and they are an important part of the business. If so, you may be able to demand higher pay. Say NT90k. To get this, you will need to be ready to have a show down with them where you tell them that they increase your salary or you are going to leave. Only a credible threat will work. The way I see Taiwanese people do this is line up a new job and then present their demands on a take-it or leave-it basis.