QR code link for medical records

I’d like to make a medical alert tag that includes a QR code to a folder with a few sub folders containing various medical files.
Would Google Drive be suitable enough for something like this?
I’m just learning to use Drive and QR codes.
Thanks for any advice!

I would say yes. You can put all your files there, and create a shared link. Then use one of the many QR creator sites to create a QR code that links to that URL. My worry is that someone would scan the QR code when I’m not looking or don’t want them to.

3 Likes

For it to work you would have to also allow public access to your medical records, not something I would want to do.

1 Like

Thanks. So far looks good to me and quite fast to learn…just wanted to make sure I’m not overlooking something.
You mean worried someone in public could scan it? I would have it around my neck inside my shirt.
I suppose if it were even ever used it’d be by ER staff and they’d need to use their phone and then would of course have my NHI number but they’d have access to that anyway. The main purpose is to make it faster to get directly to my most pertinent and updated info as I was once in a resuscitation room and it was taking them a long time sifting through my records trying to decide the best course of action. Seems this way would make things much more efficient.

They won’t use it anyway until after the emergency, it is not something they are trained to do or would trust in an emergency. Just get your doctor to put the relevant information in the emergency information section of your NHI.

Also if its public on google documents there is a chance that people could find the information without the QR code.

1 Like