Question about Master's at NSYSU

Hello everyone.

Background: I am an international student (non-Taiwanese), and am applying (or intending to apply) to several Master’s programmes in the general area of political science, both in Taiwan and internationally. I have an interest in political theory (especially Confucian approaches to political theories), and East and Southeast Asian comparative politics. I am also interested in pursuing a doctorate after my Master’s, preferably at an Anglo-American university. But this last bit would greatly depend on how things work out eventually.

Questions: I would like to ask if anyone knows anything about NSYSU’s IPS and its Master’s programme? I tried looking for comments about NSYSU’s IPS online, both in English and Mandarin, but I didn’t find much. So, if anyone knows anything about IPS, or NSYSU in general, I would be most grateful if you would share. Specifically, I would like to know:

1. Is the programme rigorous? Or, in generally, does the academic environment at NSYSU and IPS promote rigorous academic work and debates?

2. Are the professors good teachers? And are they approachable and helpful?

3. Given that I may be applying to doctorate programmes in the future, what kind of support, if any, do the professors and NSYSU/IPS offer to students going through the application process?

4. Any other comments or observations you may have about either NSYSU or IPS academically?

nb1: I am not asking about the school’s facilities/physical environment or about Kaohsiung.
nb2: I am not asking about the worth/value of pursuing a Master’s in Political Science.
nb3: I am aware of the news about Li M-J’s academic plagiarism.

I am also applying to other universities in Taipei area, including NCCU. But I would still like to know more about NSYSU, so that I can make more informed decisions eventually.

Thank you so much for reading this!

Hello everyone.