Question regarding visas and plane tickets

Ok…hopefully I don’t sound like too much of an idiot. I am rather new to this after all.

Anyways, I currently live in the US and I will be leaving in August to teach in Taiwan. I am already hired and they will help me through the work permit/ARC situation. This will supposedly be done by using my current 60 day tourist visa and turning it into a work visa.

Now, the thing about my current visa is that I didn’t just recently get it. I got it a few years ago when I travelled to Taiwan with a friend. At that time, I had a return ticket because I only stayed there for about a month. Fortunately, the visa is still good.

My question is, would it be suspicious of me to only get a one way ticket to Taiwan this time since I plan on staying there for at least a year? I wouldn’t get questioned at customs or anything because I don’t have a return ticket, right? They wouldn’t suspect me of trying to find a job in Taiwan, would they? I’d hate to not be able to enter Taiwan after all that trouble. I mean, it’s not like I plan on working there illegally.

I hope that my explanation isn’t too convoluted and I hope my question isn’t too silly.

Thanks

Buy a return ticket or have onwards out of taiwan say to Hong Kong…

You certainly may be refused even getting ona flight with a one way ticket as you’re not yet a resident.