Race Tech Taiwan - Big Bike shop in Banqiao

“Big bike” shop in Banqiao. (You like that alliteration? Has a nice rhythm to it.) :slight_smile:

For those that don’t know, I am an American motorcycle mechanic now working at a new, big bike shop in Banqiao. We can do pretty much any work on any bike or scooter but our focus is on the 600cc+ bikes. We are an official Race Tech tuning center and we specialize in suspension work.

The owner of the shop is a Hong Kong gentleman by the name of Nik who was the 1998 open-class superbike champion at ZIC. He is a certified Race Tech tuner and he has also graduated from the California Superbike School rider training program. He speaks English, Cantonese and Mandarin.

Technical Director, Michael (that’s me!), is a 2004 graduate of the Motorcycle Mechanics Institute in Orlando, FL and is certified with Honda, Kawasaki, Yamaha, Dynojet and Ducati. For the last two years, I worked at ZIC for several superbike rental companies and race teams as Technical Director and Crew Chief. We achieved several podium finishes in my time there but I am most proud to say that, of the thousands of hours and miles spent on the track, we never had one accident due to mechanical error. And the same goes for all of my previous work at shops in America.

Our shop is not like the typical workshop you see around Taiwan and Hong Kong. Our goal is to somewhat emulate the business model of western shops. Which basically means customers contact us ahead of time with their questions and needs, we give an estimate, we schedule a time for the work to be done (or for the bike to be dropped off, if necessary) and we keep track of the work done to each bike. Of course, there may be times when we can accommodate walk-in customers, as well. Our workshop is closed to the public and, at night, your bike will be kept inside our secured, climate-controlled workshop.