Realistic Living Costs and the Current ESL Market

Hi all!
New to the Forumosa community, though I’ve been lurking for about 9 months, gathering information about Taiwan.
Currently, I’m a public school EFL teacher in South Korea. Bachelor’s in publishing/English lit, TEFL certificate, about 6 months into my contract here in Korea. American female in my mid-20s. I’ve had a pretty decent Korea experience, but the climate, food, cultural history, etc. is just not as interesting to me as China/Taiwan’s. The Korean winter was especially brutal for me (from a more temperate part of the U.S.) I’m considering making the move to Taiwan. I have some friends who are moving to Taipei as teachers, and I am hoping to split rent with them (2 other people).

I’ve read a lot of disparate things on Forumosa and some other sites about the increased cost of living in Taipei, and the lack of hours at most buxibans, and how Taiwan isn’t the best place to save a lot of $$ anymore.

That said, I’m wondering if you think someone who is splitting rent with 2 others, gets into a chain like HESS or something with a decent number of working hours/wages, and limits their social life to pretty low-key, cheap things could save around $500-$600/month. That’s what I’d like to be putting away to pay off the school loans/save up for grad school. I understand I won’t be living a high life in a penthouse and drinking cosmos every night–I don’t want to! But I would dearly love a warmer climate and prettier country to look at/explore a bit.

Feedback is appreciated. Thanks all. :slight_smile:

$500 is around 15,000NTD. No problem.

But you have to wait till the alley with the water tap and the light-bulb becomes available again.

I’d say you’ll need at least 45,000 NT$ if you do not have a place to stay, yet.
You should be able to support yourself for 2 to 3 month also.

But you can always get desperate and sign any contract that’s offered to you and further ruin the market here.