Recommend textbooks for learning Chinese, pls

Hi,

I work as a Chinese tutor for three students. Two of them are just beginners and one of the three, I think, is proprably at the intermediate level.

Can you guys recommend some books to me so that I can use them to teach these three students Chinese character, grammar, pinyin, and writing???

Being a native Chinese speaker, I don’t know which way is better to teach them.

thanks

Well, I like the Shi Da series, or other wise known as “Audio Visual Chinese”. Some people don’t seem to like this series much so maybe you should get over to the bookstore (I got mine at Caves Books) and check them out for yourself. The beginner book (or Book 1), as do the second and third in the series, has a main book that has conversations and basic sentence structures as well as grammatical exercises. It is accompanied by a second (exercise) book which teaches you how to write each character along with the stroke order and radical and various exercises.

Like I said, I’ve found them to be very useful, but other may not agree. Best listen to what everyone has to say and then go and check out the relevant materials yourself and see what will suit your style and the needs of your students best.

Best of luck.

Usmaster,

Most of the posters on this forum are studying or working in Taiwan. The books most of them would probably be familar with would use traditional Chinese characters, and be more suited to Taiwan. Are you after traditional characters, simplified, or doesn’t matter?

thanks for your replies,

I actually wanted my girlfriend to buy some books in China and send them to me. You know, the books in the US is pretty expensive. Also, I tend to buy some books published from BLCU (Beijing Language and Culture University) where the HSK test is designed.

I am most familiary with simplified Chinese characters, so I am probably looking at the simplified Chinese textbooks.