Refusal of Alien residence visa

I entered to taiwan by student visa, and i involve in work activity without work permit and I was punished and I paid the fine 15000 ntd. Now I graduated and get postdoctoral researcher position. I apply Gold visa, NIA sent to me following message
Hello: In June, the Taipei City Government Labor Bureau adjudicated the case of illegal work. Is there any appeal? If there is an appeal, please provide the progress. If there is no appeal, the punishment has been confirmed. According to Article 24 of the Immigration Law, the reasons for working in our country and permission Incompatible activities or work, this case will not be approved, please withdraw this case, thank you.
I Don’t understand, they already fine me and I paid 15000 ntd. This means I can’t work in Taiwan anymore? Anyone knows what other options to get ARC or work visa? Thank you!!

The Taiwanese government is very strict about illegal work. If you paid already, it doesn’t matter, they will take this into consideration in your applications, if not outright banned, forever.

Have you attempted to apply for an “ordinary” ARC via your prospective employer? It’s possible the people who deal with Goldmember cards and ARCs are different people, and the latter might be less anal about the prior fine.

3 Likes

Did the fine come with an attached ban? is it in the documentation from the ruling?

section 4
“b .Working illegally, shall be subject to a ban from entry for three years.”

https://www.moi.gov.tw/english/News_Content.aspx?n=7630&s=143762

2 Likes

I don’t ask ordinary ARC yet.

Immigration Act - Article 24:

National Immigration Agency shall not permit an alien’s application for residence or the alien’s application for modification of reasons for residence which was submitted pursuant to the preceding Paragraph if the alien meets one of the following circumstances:

11. Has been involved in activities or employment that is different from the purposes of his or her entry.