Renouncing my Taiwanese citizenship to serve in the U.S. Military

To start this off, I was born in Taiwan with one parent being a U.S. Citizen. I graduated elementary in Taiwan, then went to the states for post-elementary education… I’ve lived in the states for nearly half my life, and I intend to enter the United States Air Force.

I currently hold both a Taiwan and U.S. passport, yet the U.S. Military does not recognize dual-citizenship, and renouncing my Taiwan citizenship is not an option until I complete mandatory military service in Taiwan.

Serving in Taiwan might jeopardize my future career in the U.S. Armed Forces, The Department of State has listed security clearance implications that may be disqualifying, being -
*exercise of dual citizenship
*possession and/or use of a foreign passport
*military service or a willingness to bear arms for a foreign country
Many more here.

What would be my next best step in this situation? If you know anyone who had similar experiences, please let me know.

Dual citizenship often prolongs and complicates security clearances, and can limit the programs you can support, but isn’t necessarily a disqualifier for a clearance itself.

I’ve been deployed (as a contractor) with servicemen who weren’t u.s. citizens at all.

Are you planning to go in enlisted or as an officer? What MOS? Are you planning on doing your Taiwanese enlistment?

Personally, in your situation, I wouldn’t consider renouncing until and if it becomes an issue.

2 Likes

Ask someone for clarification.

I know that a holistic appproach is used when deeming eligibility for a clearance. Dual citizenship does not guarantee a problem, but like @Poundsand said, it does lengthen and complicate the clearance adjudication process. Anecdotally, I have seen people with dual citizenships get clearance while working for a contractor. Just be really forthcoming at SF-86 time. Best bet is talk to an FSO.

2 Likes