Required sign a Nondisclosure Agreement before resignation

Dear All,
I have a problem with my employment.
Actually, I graduated Ph.D. and then stayed working as a Postdoctoral Fellow at NCTU. My contract is one year. Normally, from Jan. 1st to Dec. 31st.
I got an offer from another company and want to resign.
However, my boss (my professor) requires me to sign an NDA.
Is it legal or illegal? Must I sign the NDA? Because it is written in Chinese, so I am not sure it will limit or affect my future job/career. Should I hire someone to check NDA carefully? or that is the general situation in Taiwan.
Thank you!

The NDA

(1) Get a lawyer to advise you
(2) Remove that document (NOW)
(3) Any advise here is for entertainment purposes only

You need real, actionable advise

6 Likes

I guess you have a right to request an English version of the document.

If you are working at a research institute, it sounds a normal practice, though. Iiuc, your research works belong to your employer.

Thank you for your advice, I have removed all personal or private information from the documents before posting. (I think it is ok,) I will find someone familiar with the law or this kind of system for advice.
Thank again.

(1) These are standard documents (disclaimer: I did not read them; I only skimmed). Probably no need to get a lawyer, but you should ask for an English version so you know what you’re signing. If the university hires foreigners on a regular basis then they should really have an English version.

(2) The university screwed up. You should be signing these when you get hired, not when you leave. If you refuse now, you probably burn bridges but they can’t make it a condition of your resignation. It should have been a condition for your employment. Edit: if your contract ends in December and you want out now, then yes, they can force you into signing something to amend the contract.

5 Likes