Rising up the university teaching ranks: the teaching documentation option

I’m still struggling to decide which is the best way to rise through the teaching ranks at my university. Currently, I’m a lecturer in Taiwan.

Has anyone here risen up a rank through documenting their teaching and writing up a report to 升等 (rise up)?

I know the other various options. I still have concerns about doing a PhD in Taiwan…(Will it be valued outside of Taiwan? Will it mean much on a personal level?..don’t know.) Not fully convinced that my work will ever overtake the importance of the university where I do my PhD in the eyes of employers. Will having a Taiwan PhD be a forever discriminating factor abroad 10 years from now? Perhaps…perhaps not. Not sure there’s a definite answer.

While I thought my other outside academic work would be sufficient to rise up in the system, I now realise that my personal work would be subjected to some very strict Taiwan regulations which makes it nearly impossible – to the extent that what I have done gets so divorced from reality that my university claims no value in it due to regulations. Quite frustrating, actually, because I’ve gotten a fair amount of academic recognition around the world for my work and suppose in certain circles I might be considered a leading figure.

Anyhow, curious if anyone here has successfully used this third option: the teaching documentation option to prove worthiness to rise up a rank.

I’ve racked my brain on this quite some time and just keep spinning in circles…As I don’t know how long I will be in Taiwan, I just can’t seem to decide the best course of action. Thank you much for any further thoughts. Cheers! :slight_smile:

PhD, plus get a paper published to rise ranks. There’s no other way. You can’t become a professor without a PhD (not even assistant or associate).

If you plan on staying in Taiwan, do your PhD here. If you don’t plan on staying here long-term (more than 10 years), then I wouldn’t.

3 Likes