Salary in a technology company for 13 years of experience

Hi all,

I’m working in India and I have 13 years of experience in semiconductor/VLSI test (Design for Test).
I have a BS in EE.

I got an offer from a taiwan tech company.
The offer is US $100K per year (Including the bonus).

Is it a good offer? Do I need to bargain for more?

I’m planning to demand US $180K.
Is it too much?

What is the cost of living in Taiwan (HsinChu)in USD?
How much I can save if I get US $100K?

Thanks
Venu

I’d say that’s a very good salary unless you’re an expert in something specific - high-performance analog, for example - or have working knowledge of some breakthrough process or device construction. Your Taiwanese compatriots will be paid about one-fifth of that.

You can try asking for $180K, but they’ll probably tell you where to stuff it.

You can rent a nice place in Hsinchu for NT$16000-20000/month. If you’re really earning US$100K, you should be able to save US$50K a year or more. You’ll be taxed quite heavily.

Are you sure they said US$? Seems a bit odd. They weren’t offering NT$100,000 per month? That’s still a bloody good salary, but it’s not US$100K/year.

That sounds high. What #'s did they base the bonus on? Is it variable? Ask them what the variable bonus was in 2008, 2009. How much is guaranteed cash? Is that all cash salary or is part housing/car stipend?

In general trying to negotiate for 2X salary puts you in the dealbreaker category. If the starting expectations between you and the company are that far apart then there is something wrong, either the job is not properly scoped, you are overqualified, or either applicant or company is insane.

[quote=“dig-des”]Hi all,

I’m working in India and I have 13 years of experience in semiconductor/VLSI test (Design for Test).
I have a BS in EE.

I got an offer from a taiwan tech company.
The offer is US $100K per year (Including the bonus).

Is it a good offer? Do I need to bargain for more?