Salary range with my teaching qualifications and experience

Hi,

I’m a new member here. My wife and I are considering the possibility of moving to Taiwan sometime in next few years. My wife was born and raised in Taiwan. We met 17 years ago while I was teaching at a high school in Taichung. I taught mostly math classes and some English classes when needed. I completed two years at the school in Taiwan.

I’m currently a high school teacher at a high performing school in the US. I have had my current position for 15 years. I have a Master’s in Education, and I’m at MA +60 on the salary scale (one step below PhD).

The only reason we are considering this move is because my wife may have a chance to transfer to the Taiwan branch of her company.

With my teaching experience and educational background, what sort of salary cold I reasonably expect if we decide to make the move to Taiwan?

We have an elementary aged daughter, so that also complicates the decision for us.

I have a feeling making this move might have more cons than pros. I just thought I would throw this out there to this well informed community.

Thank you for any insight you can provide!

3 Likes

You are overqualified to be an ESL teacher, so don’t do that.

You may wish to look into teaching Math (or whatever you are teaching now) at an international school. The pay is usually higher than local schools.

I can’t speak for the specific salary range you can expect, but I can give you a handy guide for comparing salaries: If you made $60k TWD a month in Taiwan, that would be equivalent to making $60k USD a year in a similar sized city in the US, when you take cost of living into consideration.