Semester Abroad Fall 2021: how likely is it to enter Taiwan by September?

Hello

How likely do you think it is that exchange students can enter Taiwan by September 2021? I hope that some of you can give me some educated guesses. Of course everything depends on the future development and is uncertain.

I am a student form Switzerland who received a scolarship for an exchange semester at NTU in fall 2021. Chances are that I will be vaccinated by summer 21. I really hope that I can go to Taiwan. But if you think that it is very unlikely, then I would try with plan B, which I have to decide soon.

Thank you very much for your opinions!

This gives me some hope: https://focustaiwan.tw/society/202102210010

The timeline you mentioned is quite far away, so it is difficult to predict what regulations will be in place at that time.

I will say however that the authorities in Taiwan (including Health Minister Chen, who has been the primary spokesperson for COVID related matters during the pandemic) have downplayed vaccination as a primary or sole determination of safety or health. They seem to view it as part of a range of public health strategies which include: mandatory quarantine for 14 days; mask wearing; hand washing; social distancing; etc. All this is to say that being vaccinated would be great, yes, but do not expect this to have any bearing whatsoever in terms of the other public health measures in place. At least that is the case now, as it remains unclear if vaccination has any impact on virus transmission (that is Minister Chen’s assessment as I understand it).

Guy

2 Likes

Nobody of course knows, but a guess could be something like this:

• Probability of being able to enter as a tourist by then: 0%
  • Probability of being able to enter as an exchange student: 25%