Senior Programmer

Hi all,

been reading the forum and the Internet for information. My employer and I have plans to have me transferred from Europe to our Taipei office in Taiwan. Before jumping on this opportunity(?) though there are few questions on my mind.

1. Since the employer is providing sponsorship what are the requirements for getting the work permit? Various sources quote that “required documents” must be submitted by the employer, but
    I can’t find information about what are these documents? I have about 8 years of work experience but I don’t hold any kind of college diploma or a degree. Will this be a show stopper?

2. I found information on the forum regarding working conditions and quite frankly they seem appalling. Do people really work from 9-11 and then come in on Saturdays as well? Would you say this is a norm
    or just what some people do? Are expats/westerners expected to put in same the same amount of hours? (I have no interest in slaving my life away like that really…)

3. Salaries seem really low. Someone mentioned a going rate for junior engineering (not SW) position at about 50k a month. That seems awfully low… less than 1300€, which is something in Europe you would probably make in countries like Bulgaria or Romania. How does that compare in Taiwan? And moreover what would be expected salary range for a Senior SW Engineer (with the said 8 years of work experience but no formal qualifications).

Thanks!

[quote=“ensiferum”]

1. I found information on the forum regarding working conditions and quite frankly they seem appalling. Do people really work from 9-11 and then come in on Saturdays as well? Would you say this is a norm
    or just what some people do? Are expats/westerners expected to put in same the same amount of hours? (I have no interest in slaving my life away like that really…)[/quote]

Depends on who you work for, varies from 9-6, 8-8 and even worse. I hear that western owned companies have more reasonable working hours.