Should I get an eGPU?

My laptop works fine for watching streaming services, doing office work, and playing very light games. I want to play some games on Steam that require a bit more from a GPU, so I am considering getting an eGPU. When I try to run any games that require a bit more GPU, the laptop runs very, very hot. Honestly, I am not tech savvy about this stuff.

1. Is an eGPU worth it and will it work?
  2. I don’t want to spend more than 300 USD.
  3. What are some good options?
    (I do not want to buy a desktop or a new laptop)

Here are my laptop specs:
Zenbook Pro 15 Flip Oled UP6502ZD
GPU 0: Intel® Iris® Xe Graphics
GPU 1: Intel® Arc™ A730M Graphics
16.0 GB RAM
12th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-12700H 2.30 GHz
Windows 11 Home
2 Thunderbolt 4 USBC Ports

Do you mean an external GPU?

I would buy a desktop with the spec you want and put in a gpu you want (I suggest 3060ti, best CP value right now).

You’re also limited for performance because thunderbolt interface is only x4. Another thing is cost.

You’ll want an external monitor unless you want to further reduce the throughput.

eGPU = “external” GPU

Not in the market for a desktop right now.

With an external monitor, there won’t be any bottlenecking sending the signal back to the laptop screen. So no problems there.

This was / is my main concern. After getting the external case, still need to buy the GPU.

1 Like

Well, if that gpu won’t exceed the equivalent of a x4 pcie, then I say go for it.

:guitar: :guitar: :guitar: :roll:

3 Likes

What games?

@SuiGeneris

If you really care about performance, laptop and eGPU just won’t cut it. eGPU might eventually be comparable to desktop GPU on PCIe 4 down the road, but you will need a new laptop to work with that future eGPU anyway.

For now, eGPU has to operate at a bandwidth and latency at least 2x worse than desktop GPU.