Should I quit? Or am I just a whiner?

Hello,

Here’s a brief summary of my experience working at my first buxiban for a year:

PROS
-Paid on time, every time
Boss includes a receipt of the exact amount deducted for tax, health insurance, etc.

-Low pressure environment
The teaching part is pretty easy. There’s some “office work” that comprises of making up worksheets or quizzes. Very little or no marking. I usually sit around and look at my phone or slip outside and get some food at 711.

-Youngest students are at least 7~8 years old.
They at least know how to stay seated and write things down in a somewhat civilized manner.

CONS
-low pay ($48 000)
-6 day week (Mon-Fri, plus Sat mornings =~30 hrs/wk)

In my defense, I was a desperate newbie when I applied. I had also been told to expect a lower salary since I’m ABC.

After a year at this school though, I’m starting to wonder if I should move on or not.

Any tips or suggestions?

My biggest fear is quitting this super-steady job for a new one, only to find out that the advertised “$650-700/hr, NO WEEKENDS, FRIENDLY AND PROFESSIONAL ENVIRONMENT!” turns out to be a worse job.

(I read the horror stories on the “blacklist of schools” thread and got very VERY scared.)

Any input would be appreciated!

dude 48k and you’re doing 30hrs a week

That blows my mind

I think there is a spectrum ranging from “shit pay + shit environment” to “great pay + great enviroment”. Sounds like you’re on the lower end of the middle where you get pretty shit pay but a pretty good environment.

Let’s take the easy example, HESS.

They start you off at 580/hr (which is shit pay) yet 580x30 = 17400 a week x4 weeks = 69600 - 18% tax = 57000.
5% would be 66120.

Working on Saturday is super shit too, when is your contract up?

You had one year, and if you don’t have restrictions on your work status you should move on.