Simple question about work marriage and ARC

Hi

Simple question ?

Been here three years, married to Taiwanese. I am British. I have a masters degree. I have an ARC through marriage. I also have a daughter that has dual citezenship ?

Can I work In Taiwan as English teacher or anything else, like selling stinky To Fu in the market or bettle nuts in Pan chiao ?

Yes.

Your examples are not good ones. Both of them may require you (or any Taiwanese) to get a vendor’s license. There are lots of restrictions on this. You can work other ‘normal’ white collar or blue collar jobs.

Just asked a lawyer the same question. Answer was a definate “yes” and do not need a work permit even for teaching, except kindergartens (good thing too) which fall under article something or other. I also got the same answer from my brother in law who is a Taipei cop. As far as street vendors go yes I realise u have to get a permit but so does any Taiwanese person as well, or u will get fined, not deported if you have an ARC through marriage (according to the brother in law although he is not a foreign affairs cop but regular) . So basically I can work in any profession but need the same permits as a Taiwanese. Other exceptions being jobs of nationaly security such as cops, secret service and nuclear button pushers! I found out I can sell bettle nuts but you need a permit (nothing to do with race but actually loacation) and cannot wear a mini skirt that reveals your underwear (last sentence was a joke)!

I was told that teaching at kindergartens was OK. After numerous attempts at trying to contact people at the CLA, the manager told me that I could teach at kindergartens. What have you been told?

Teaching at kindergartenns is NOT okay.

Please see all previous threads about teachers being deported.