Standard margins for printshop printing? (Open Office/PDF)

I want to set up pages (margins, etc.) in Writer so that they convert well to standard .pdf format and so that I can give the .pdf files directly to a print shop.

I’m studying the User Guide to Writer and it says that Options>Compatibility>“Use printer metrics for document formatting” will keep my document in the right format for my printer OR for conversion to .pdf. But I can’t find anywhere the option to tell it that I want it formatted for .pdf and not for my actual printer. I guess it must be some kind of “set default printer” option but the only one of those that I can find doesn’t have a .pdf option.

Or maybe I should just define margins manually? Can anyone tell me what are the standard margins I should be using? (A4 paper, printing on both sides).

Thanks for any tips.

Maybe I didn’t explain myself very well. Or maybe it’s just a dumb question.

I’ll try to explain myself better.

My question really boils down to this: is there a standard minimum margin setting either for stuff you give to a printshop to print, or for PDFs?

I got the impression from the Writer user guide that there was a standard margin size for PDFs and that Writer could be set up to use this automatically rather than requiring manual input of margin settings. On this, as on a few other points, the guide is not terribly clear. Pretty good for the price though.

Trying to write a comprehensive answer, I just realized I’m bad at explaining things (and good at confusing people).

Anyhow, here’s the latest version:

Standard minimum margin setting: AFAIK there’s no such thing. Depending on what you want to do, your print shop might instruct you to set certain margins or give you a template. This generally applies if you want to print something sophisticated like a book, anything with a binding or a “full bleed” image going to the very edge of the page.