Study Visa question

Hello Everyone, I’m in a bit of a tough spot and could really use some advice. I’m an international student studying in Taiwan, but recently I got expelled from my university due to failing to pay tuition fees on time – a pretty major oversight, I know.

Now, I have about 10 days left on my ARC to figure out my next steps. Here’s where it gets tricky: my passport has less than 6 months left before expiry, and I need to stay in Taiwan for at least another 3 months to sort out my affairs and wrap up my lease.

I’m from a visa-exempt country, so obtaining a new visa isn’t too complicated. However, getting a new passport means I’ll need to overstay my arc by about 20 to 30 days. My question is, can I pay the fine for overstaying, fly to a nearby location, and then return to Taiwan to get the visa-exempt entry, or will this cause further trouble with immigration due to the fine? Also, can I apply for a student visa while I am in Taiwan with the visa exempt status? I asked about the expulsion (that I thought was not going to be a big problem but it actually was) but didn’t receive any response about what it means for my status, can I retake my courses next semester? Can I withdraw from this university and apply to another one?

I’m really uncertain about what to do, and any advice or insights would be incredibly helpful. Thank you all in advance for your assistance!

I’ll stop you right here.

Don’t.

Do not do illegal things.

Keep your record clean, it will bite you in the future. It is not worth this level of uncertainty

2 Likes

Pardon my ignorance, I know it may pretty much common sense what I am going to ask but, is it illegal to overstay within a certain period? I thought that if you overstay within a certain period, you get a fine and that’s all?

I’m telling you, this is highly illegal. Do not break the law. It may bite you closer in the future, it might bite you further into the future.

Don’t break the law. Full stop.