Studying Chinese @ Guoyu Ribao

Has anyone ever studied at Guoyu Ribao on Roosevelt, close to the Guting station? I hear that they have adult classes from 8:00 am to 8:50, or some funky time. It would fit into my schedule perfectly. If anyone is in the know, write down your opinions of the place - I’d love to find out more…

I studied there for 3 months 13 years ago, so my info isn’t up to date. I ditched the Maniland retroflex r pronunciation for the Taiwan Guoyv that I learned from talking to real Taiwan people (not too heavy a Taiwanese accent). Also, some of the textbooks at the time taught some grammar patterns I never heard in Taiwan, but are probably considered standard Mandarin. As long as you can find people to talk Chinese to, you don’t need Chinese classes except to learn how to write nice Chinese characters. Most immigrants to the US learn through talking to people, not in a formal class setting.

I never studied there but have heard alot of good things about it (and other people I talk to have heard good things about it too!) Two of my co-workers just started classes there on Friday. You can always try it out for a month or so?
(I just started studying at CLD on Wuchang by the Taipei Main Station…it seems pretty good!)
GOOD LUCK!

I just checked it out yesterday. Their classes and times are much the same as TLI, CLD etc. It’s two hour classes, the first being 8:00AM-9:50. They don’t seem too flexible though. They wouldn’t let us study two hours a week (one night). They said minimun 2 nights. Their textbooks looked pretty bad, but it seems that you can also use the Shida books. For our purposes, TLI seemed better.

Bri

Just curious.

How much do they charge per hour?

Tution fees depend on what kind of classes you are looking for…
Private: $350/class
Group (2): $220/class
Group (3+): $150

BUT…one class is one hour - but the blocks of time are TWO classes (so just double the above amount…)